Morning Yoga

Throughout my youth and into college I was very obviously a night person. I suffered from insomnia, so mornings were always a challenge. This issue followed me into my first teaching gig, and I relied on coffee to put on my peppy face for when the students arrived.

My last year in the classroom, this all changed. I became ill for several months during the winter, and suddenly my body changed. It needed sleep, and lots of it. I went from a six-hour-a-night lady to an eight-hour lady, and I haven’t struggled to fall asleep since.

This summer I’ve come to realize that as a result, I’m slowly becoming a morning person. I said that out loud for the first time yesterday, and it felt awkward yet strangely liberating.

For example, this morning before my roommate even changed out of her pajamas, I had worked on my intern project for five hours. It was delightful!

seconds_before_sunrise_by_zedlord89-d5snx2b
Watching the sun rise is definitely a benefit of a morning practice!

This has also led to me practicing yoga in the morning. I often wake up before 5:30 so I can get my asana on. I’ve noticed some benefits as well as drawbacks to a morning practice.

Benefits

  • I am not as tired as when I practice in the afternoon, so every chaturanga feels like it’s filling me with power rather than drawing it out of me
  • I start my day on a more uplifting, positive note – which helps me stay in a better mood
  • I feel more energized when I get to work

Drawbacks

  • I am stiffer in the morning – even by the end of my practice my heels aren’t as close to the ground in downward dog as they can be
  • I have to shower at work, and I always inevitably forget something I need (the time I left my bra at home was a highly un-enjoyable experience)

Since I have the opportunity, and my schedule permits, I’m going to keep it up for the rest of the summer.

Does anyone else choose a morning practice? Why or why not?

How do you overcome the drawbacks?

3 thoughts on “Morning Yoga

  1. haha!! you forgot your bra?! I’m a morning person too. All through college and my job, I’ve enjoyed the “extra” time I get when I rise early in the morning. I’ve probably stayed awake all night to finish studying / working only a handful of times.

    I don’t practice Yoga regularly; but I like to get my workout done and out of the way the first thing.
    a) it energizes me and gets me ready for the day
    b) whenever I postpone, I usually end up NOT getting the workout done.

    Like

    1. Hey there! It’s good to hear from you. What you said in “b” is so true! By the end of the day the likelihood that I get around to working out is slim. I can’t wait to read some of your posts to see what you are up to 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

