Lululemon: What Does the Brand Say About You?

As a yoga newbie, I couldn’t help but notice that nearly everyone in my yoga class has one of the smooth, Lululemon yoga mats. Prior to starting yoga, my only perception of the brand was that it’s expensive.

Lululemon_Athletica_logo.svg

Now that I’m more exposed to the brand, I have started seeing the little logo outside of the yoga studio – from jackets people wear in the grocery store to water bottles of fellow classmates. Feeling like I might be missing out on the brand of the century, I decided to do a little research.

Turns out the founder of the company, Chip Wilson, has been known for saying some pretty inappropriate stuff – topics ranging from sexism to racism to classism (read about this stuff here, here, and here). BUT he went a little too far in 2013, and had to step down as Chairman because of some of those indelicate comments. Then just this month he officially cut ties with the company and resigned from the board.

Although I don’t yet own any Lululemon gear, I have thought pretty deeply about what it would say about me and what I’d be promoting. Are the current consumers of the products aware that the founder did not have yogis’ best intentions in mind when he created the brand? If I wore Lululemon, would it seem like I was okay with the fact that he wanted to exploit the “Power Women”? But now that Wilson is entirely disconnected from the brand, does none of this ring true?

I haven’t started filling up my Lululemon online shopping cart yet. I have a yoga mat and yoga pants that work just fine. Maybe someday if I am practicing yoga at a level that I need a fancier mat, I will consider it.

Do you own anything from Lululemon?

Did you know about Chip Wilson?

Do his actions impact your feelings about the brand?

Is the quality of the products worth the premium price?

Do you think the brand reflects who you are, and if so, in what way?

12 thoughts on “Lululemon: What Does the Brand Say About You?

  1. Apart from Chip I find the people working for the company are truly wonderful and do their best to assist customers. Having said that, I really did notice a difference between the stuff I bought a few years ago and what they are selling now (made in Canada/US replaced by made in Asia). It used to be worth the money but after cutting production costs and maximising profits I’d say no, not anymore. There are cheaper and better brands out there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this Article! I really like your article and the way you write – it’s great! I manage a new website called http://www.yogabusinesschicks.com which is community of business women, who like yoga and would like to fit a bit more yoga into their lives. It is a place for practical ideas, tips and will include interview and information from teachers and normal everyday women (like you). I am in the process of reaching out to people who may like to contribute and I wondered if you would be interested? It would simply mean giving me permission to share (or re-post) this your blog post/article onto the site, referencing you as the writer and therefore giving you full credit and a link back to your website, if you would like that. Feel free to email me at hello@yogabusinesschicks.com to chat further? Warm regards, Paula

    Like

  3. I would suggest that you buy whatever seems most suited to your intended use. If its from Lululemon, or Walmart, or Macey’s (or whatever) ………. who cares? It’s really nobody’s business but yours. If someone associates your perception of the world based on you wearing a Chip company product, then feel sorry for their lack of common sense. Lululemon here is a wonderful dog friendly store and the staff have been so helpful with improving our Ray’s social skills.

    Like

  4. I own a pair of shorts and some leggings from Lululemon but I much prefer Sweaty Betty (a UK brand) especially as Lulu tops just don’t fit me properly. I know about Chip and his comments but it’s no worse than many other CEOs and I’ve found the people in the stores really helpful and nice.

    Like

  5. Well… I am glad to hear he has stepped down. That should change things a whole lot when it comes to associations with Lululemon, shouldn’t it?

    Personally, a stint at Lululemon would be a dream for me. I have come across some funny stuff about them, but everything else I’ve read and also what I’ve seen-intrigues me about this company.

    I am really curious about their work culture, which promotes self-improvement.

    I have read that employees are encouraged (maybe even required) to record their goals and associated improvements during their time with the company.

    Having been co-members of the same gym as a previous assistant store manager and sales associate in the past, I see that this is something the two of them do. Whether or not it’s because of the company I don’t know, but I am sure that they exude the Lululemon mindset wherever they go.

    They also tried out different fitness places together, as well as offer free fitness classes in-store (of course, to give you some incentive to buy their stuff, sure. But as long as I don’t HAVE to, I don’t mind).

    Actually, my first teacher provided one of the yoga classes in the local Lululemon. Yet, she wore the same Lululemon pants in all the classes I ever took with her within a period of 2 years. Obviously, she never felt THAT pressured to buy their stuff, either.

    Anyhow… I just wanted to share some thoughts.

    P.s. I’ve never been interested in buying ANYTHING Lululemon! I am a Nike/Lorna Jane gal myself (when funds permit). 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

